New Mandatory Course Requirement
On July 1, 2011 new requirements affecting continuing education for real estate brokers and salespersons became law. You must take a mandatory training module each year. This will be part of your 15 hour CE requirement each year (30 hours total for each 2 year renewal).
Every year, the Minnesota Department of Commerce will determine the specific required topic and the number of credit hours allocated to it. The courses will either be 3.75 or 7.5 hours and will cover significant topics that are of current interest to real estate professionals.
To learn more information on the 2012-13 Minnesota State Required Module select: Contracts & MN Distressed Properties – Required Module – 7/1/12 – 6/30/13
If you did not complete the 2011-12 Minnesota State Required Module select: Residential Leasing - Required Module (Online Course)
How this affects you
All real estate licensees are required to complete 30 hours of approved continuing education during each licensing period.
Licensees are on a two-year renewal cycle. However, you are still required to complete 15 hours of approved continuing education every year.
You may fulfill your education requirements by attending up to 30 hours during the first year of your two-year license period. However, you cannot skip your first-year 15-hour requirement and then take 30 hours in your second year.
Continuing education credits must be reported annually to your broker. Each broker is required to certify that all licensees have fulfilled their continuing education requirements each year.
Agency and Fair Housing Education Required Every 2 Years
You are required to complete at least 1 hour of training on agency representation and disclosure plus 1 hour of training on fair housing issues during every two-year licensing period.
Education Deadline: June 30th
Officially, the deadline for completing 15 hours of continuing education and reporting hours to your broker is June 30th. BE CAREFUL! If your license expires June 30, 2013, your deadline for making timely renewal is June 15th.
If your license expires on June 30, 2013:
You must complete 30 hours (including mandatory agency and fair housing) and apply for renewal no later than June 15, 2013. At least 15 of the 30 hours must have been completed and reported to your broker no later than June 30, 2012.
If your license expires on June 30, 2014:
You must complete 30 hours (including mandatory agency and fair housing) and apply for renewal no later than June 15, 2014. At least 15 of the 30 hours must be completed and reported to your broker no later than June 30, 2013.
New Course to Meet Agency and Fair Housing Requirements
A new 3.75 credit courses that cover your mandatory agency and fair housing topics:Courses page.
First Year Agents
Each new licensee is required to complete 30 hours of state-approved continuing education during the initial license period.
© 2013, Kaplan, Inc., All Rights Reserved.